The Davidson County Sports Hall of Fame is dedicated to preserving the tradition of sports in the county. The Hall of Fame seeks to recognize the past personalities and their contributions to our county. Candidates are judged on their contributions and/or achievements while associated with sports in Davidson County, North Carolina.

Our Board of Directors consists of ten members:

Ronnie Beverly
Charles Elmore
Carlton Hurt
Linda Johnson Little
Jr. McLean
Danny Palmer
Kim Payne
Matt Ridge
Roxanna Smith
Jim Lippard, Hall of Fame Founder
and Board Consultant

Inductees are chosen from nomination forms that are distributed throughout the county. Each nomination will remain active indefinitely. Eligible candidates must be selected from the following:

  1. Athletes must have completed competition at least five years prior to the election.
  2. Devoted persons who have sacrificed so much time and effort to maintain sports on such a high level of excellence can still be active.
  3. Nominees must have significant ties to Davidson County.
The Davidson County Museum (The Old Court House) has a permanent plaque with each member’s name mounted by the year of inductance.

In September 2002, The Davidson County Sports Hall of Fame Committee introduced its first class of inductees. It was an exciting event held at Sapona Country Club. Below is a listing of each of the seventeen years’ Inductees. You may click on the name of any of that year’s honored Inductees to learn more about them.
We invite you to submit your nomination for one of this year’s Hall of Fame Inductees by clicking on the Inductee Nomination Form link below and completing the Nomination Form.  Nominations for the 2024 Class need to be turned in by May 31, 2024. Our next induction Ceremony and Banquet for the 2024 Class will be held:

Saturday, October 19, 2024
Mary E. Rittling Conference Center
On the campus of Davidson-Davie Community College
Lexington, NC

For more information, please contact a Board member or e-mail us at:


Nominations for 2024 must be received by May 31, 2024.

Inductee Nomination Form


  • Josh Bush
    Jody Westmoreland Fleming
    Brian Hege
    Danny Huneycutt
    Darrius Little
  • Dr. Catherine Koontz Rogers
    Justin Strickland
    Dan Tricarico
    Henry Walls
    Don Osborne (Unsung Hero)


Citizens Insurance
JC Green and Sons Funeral Home
Farm Bureau Insurance of Thomasville (Bobby House).
Rex Oil Company
Kim Payne
Jr. McLain in memory of L.M. & Margaret Lockhart
CertaPro Painters of Chapel Hill
Rev. Dr. Arnetta Beverly
GIA Painting
Winner’s Circle Awards and Screen Printing, LLC
Premier Printing
Charles Elmore
Myers & Myers PLLC
Farm Bureau of Thomasville (Chris Smith)
Lanier’s Ace Hardware
Strickland Brothers 10-minute Oil Change
Professional Commercial Floor Covering INC
BAR Roofing and Maintenance
Davidson County Schools
Lexington Utilities
EE Wilson Floor Covering LLC
Edward Jones Investments (Financial Advisors): Kenyon Rush, Jennifer Schoonmaker-Dasch, Steve Jackson, Dustin VanWeerdhuizen, Suzette McIntyre, Tim Pollard, Jarrod Dunbar